Rahmanullah Gurbaz reprimanded for on-field outburst. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has officially censured Afghanistan’s Rahmanullah Gurbaz for an on-field outburst during the Cricket World Cup match against England on October 17, 2023.
Why was Gurbaz chastised?
Article 2.2 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel prohibits players from “using language, gestures, or acts that are profane, obscene, offensive, or insulting.”
The ICC Match Referee found that Gurbaz’s outburst was a clear violation of Article 2.2, and he therefore imposed a reprimand on the player.
Adil Rashid removed Gurbaz in Afghanistan’s innings’ 19th over. Gurbaz’s ejection was obviously frustrating him, and he vented his resentment by slamming his bat against the boundary rope. He then walked over to a nearby chair and slammed his bat on that as well.
Gurbaz showed his frustration by slamming his bat on the boundary rope and even a nearby chair. Also, the ICC Match Referee Richie Richardson deemed Gurbaz’s actions to be in breach of the Code of Conduct and handed him an official reprimand.
A Lesson to be learned.
Gurbaz’s outburst was a reminder of the importance of sportsmanship in cricket. Gurbaz is a talented young player, and he has the potential to be a future star for Afghanistan. However, he needs to learn to control his emotions on the field, if he wants to reach his full potential.
The ICC took action against Gurbaz for his on-field outburst. Article 2.2 states that it is an offense for a player to “show dissent at an umpire’s decision or gesture in a manner that is contrary to the spirit of the game.”
Gurbaz’s on-field outburst was a disappointing moment for him and for Afghanistan cricket. He is a talented player, but he needs to learn to control his emotions on the field.
It is also important to note that the ICC has a zero-tolerance policy for on-field outbursts. Players need to be aware of this policy and they need to conduct themselves in a professional manner at all times.